Probing the physics of magnetron sputtering for thin-film deposition by Virtual Coater
: application to TiO2

Student thesis: Doc typesDoctor of Sciences

Abstract

The purpose of this Ph.D. thesis is the development of a new generation of predictive tools dedicated to thin film deposition by vacuum-based techniques. Even though these processes are one of the main pillars of our technological society, the understanding of these techniques has not yet come to an end. There are still grey areas that today’s scientific knowledge cannot describe or explain. However, the advent of computer science opens up the door to a brand-new kind of approaches, allowing scientists to simulate complex processes in order to unravel their understanding. With the evolution of High-Performance Computing resources, the complexity of the numerical models is continuously growing. The former basic 1D or 2D models can now give way to realistic 3D models including a very detailed physics and providing scientist new ways to observe and see the processes governing the universe. Rather to aim to explain the whole universe, this PhD thesis focuses on the reactive magnetron sputtering technique which is a widely used method for the deposition of various compound layers both in laboratories and in industries. Therefore, its understanding is of great importance to master the quality and the properties of the products. The involved physical processes have complex and non-linear nature requiring the use of a wide range of simulation techniques and models. This PhD work established a 3D multi-scale simulation chain of plasma deposition process (a.k.a. Virtual CoaterTM), based on a combination of Particle-In-Cell Monte Carlo (plasma phase) algorithms and a kinetic Monte Carlo (film growth) code.
The first step of this work demonstrates the connections between the several codes in order to provide a global picture of the deposition process. In a second time, attention is focused on the role of neutral particles during the deposition process. Experimental characterization of both the plasma phase and the film properties are performed and compared together with simulation results. The experimental results are in agreement with the simulated ones. For a given coater, the plasma phase hysteresis behaviour, film composition and film morphology are predicted and explained.
In a third time, the challenges arisen when modelling charged particles are highlighted and addressed in a dedicated section. The various fluxes of particles flowing towards the substrate during a plasma deposition process occurring at realistic power density are proved to be scalable from 3D PICMC simulations operating at lower power density. The simulations also feature propagating plasma instabilities, so-called spokes. The validity domain of the scaling strategy is discussed in the light of the model constraints.
The last step successfully applies the established 3D multi-scale simulation chain to the growth of TiO2 thin films by means of reactive magnetron sputtering. The model efficiently predicts the densities and fluxes of both charged and neutral particles towards the substrate. It also enables to explain the changes of properties of the deposited films throughout the transition from metallic deposition to stoichiometric TiO2. Moreover, the high energy negative atomic oxygen ions originating from the targets are identified as origin of the abnormally low inclination of the columnar structure experimentally observed for the oxide mode coatings. Also, the change of the crystallographic arrangement of the coatings during the plasma transition from amorphous to anatase is observed by x-ray diffraction. This modification is explained by an increase of the normalized energy flux (NEF) at the substrate location.
Altogether, the development of Virtual Coater through this work enable the improvement of our knowledge of the interaction between plasma properties and thin films quality. This proposed new simulation procedure paved the way to new methods of studying the plasma state as a deposition process.
Date of Award18 Jan 2021
Original languageEnglish
Awarding Institution
  • University of Namur
SponsorsUniversité de Namur
SupervisorStephane Lucas (Supervisor), Andreas Pflug (Co-Supervisor), Luc Henrard (President), Pavel Moskovkin (Jury), Wilmert De Bosscher (Jury), Stephanos Konstantinidis (Jury) & Achim von Keudell (Jury)

Keywords

  • Plasma
  • simulaation
  • Monte Carlo
  • TiO2
  • Magnetron sputtering
  • Coating

Attachment to an Research Institute in UNAMUR

  • NISM

Cite this

'

Probing the physics of magnetron sputtering for thin-film deposition by Virtual Coater
: application to TiO2

Traduction de l'intitulé de la thèse: Sonder la physique de la pulvérisation magnétron pour le dépôt de couches minces par Virtual Coater: application au TiO2

Student thesis: Doc typesDocteur en Sciences

Résumé

L’objet de cette thèse de doctorat a porté sur le développement d’une nouvelle génération d’outils de prédiction dédiés au dépôt de couches minces par des procédés sous vide. Même si ces processus forment l’un des principaux piliers de notre société technologique, leur compréhension et leur maitrise ne sont pas encore totales. Il reste toujours des zones grises que les connaissances scientifiques actuelles ne peuvent décrire ou expliquer. Cependant, l’avènement de l’informatique a ouvert la porte d’un nouveau type d’approche, permettant aux scientifiques de simuler des procédés complexes afin d’élucider leur compréhension. Avec l’évolution des moyens de calcul haute performance, la complexité des modèles numériques ne cesse de croître. Les anciens modèles 1D ou 2D peuvent désormais céder la place à des modèles 3D réalistes implémentant une physique très détaillée et offrant aux scientifiques de nouvelles façons d’observer et de voir les processus régissant l’Univers. Au lieu d’essayer d’expliquer l’Univers tout entier, cette thèse de doctorat se concentre sur la technique dite de pulvérisation magnétron réactive qui est une méthode largement utilisée pour le dépôt de couches mince de composés tant en laboratoire qu’en industrie. Par conséquent, sa compréhension est d’une grande importance pour maîtriser la qualité et les propriétés des produits. Les processus physiques impliqués étant de nature complexe et non linéaire, ils nécessitent l’utilisation d’un large éventail de techniques et de modèles de simulation. Ce travail de doctorat a établi une chaîne de simulation multi-échelle 3D du procédé de dépôt par plasma (Virtual CoaterTM). Celle-ci est basée sur la combinaison d’algorithmes de type « Particle-in-cell Monte Carlo » pour la simulation de la phase plasma et de « kinetic Monte Carlo » pour la croissance de film.
La première étape de ce travail explique les liens et interfaces entre les différents algorithmes utilisés pour obtenir une vision globale du procédé de dépôt. Dans un deuxième temps, l’attention est portée sur le rôle des particules neutres pendant le dépôt. La caractérisation expérimentale des propriétés plasma et des couches minces est effectuée et comparée avec les simulations réalisées. Pour une géométrie donnée, l’hystérésis de la phase plasma, la composition du film et sa morphologie sont prédits et expliqués.
Dans un troisième temps, les défis surgissant lors de la modélisation de particules chargées sont mis en évidences et expliqués. Lors d’un dépôt plasma se produisant à une densité de puissance réaliste, les flux de particules s’écoulant vers le substrat sont démontrés prédictibles sur base de simulations 3D fonctionnant à des densités de puissance inférieures. Il a été également démontré que ces simulations prédisent l’existence des instabilités propagatrices du plasma appelées, spokes. Finalement, à la lumière des contraintes du modèle, le domaine de validité de cette stratégie de prédiction des flux est établi et clairement défini.
La dernière étape de ce manuscrit applique avec succès la chaîne de simulation multi-échelle 3D établie pour la croissance de films minces de TiO2 par pulvérisation magnétron réactive. Le modèle prédit efficacement les densités et les flux de particules chargées et neutres vers le substrat et permet d’expliquer les changements de propriétés des films déposés tout au long de la transition plasma du mode de dépôt métallique au mode de dépôt stœchiométrique (TiO2). De plus, les ions négatifs très énergétiques d’oxygène monoatomique provenant des cibles sont identifiés comme étant à l’origine de l’inclinaison anormalement faible de la structure en colonnes expérimentalement observée sur les revêtements obtenus en mode oxydé. En outre, le changement, lors de la transition plasma, de la structure cristallographique des couches minces depuis une phase amorphe vers une phase anatase, est observé par une analyse par diffraction des rayons X des couches produites. Cette modification est attribuée à l’augmentation du flux d’énergie normalisé (NEF) à l’emplacement du substrat.
Au final, le développement de Virtual Coater à travers ce travail a permis d’améliorer la connaissance de l’interaction entre les propriétés du plasma et la qualité des couches minces obtenues. Cette nouvelle procédure de simulation ouvre la voie à de nouvelles méthodes d’étude de l’état plasma en tant que procédé de dépôt.
la date de réponse18 janv. 2021
langue originaleAnglais
L'institution diplômante
  • Universite de Namur
SponsorsUniversité de Namur
SuperviseurStephane Lucas (Promoteur), Andreas Pflug (Copromoteur), Luc Henrard (Président), Pavel Moskovkin (Jury), Wilmert De Bosscher (Jury), Stephanos Konstantinidis (Jury) & Achim von Keudell (Jury)

mots-clés

  • plasma
  • TiO2
  • Simulation
  • Monte Carlo
  • Coating
  • Magnetron sputtering

Attachement à un institut de recherche reconnus à l'UNAMUR

  • NISM

Contient cette citation

'