Evolution d'applications de bases de données relationnelles

Student thesis: Doc typesDoctor of Sciences

Abstract

Case tools dedicated to the design of databases have appeared on the market for some years. Those softwares only had a small penetration in the development of programs. This failure is partly due to the lack of support given in critical phases of conception, particularly in the maintenance and evolution of databases.

In this thesis, we think about the maintenance and evolution of relational databases design problems. This design is very often divided in three main parts: conceptual, logical and physical level. When a designer modifies the specifications in one of these three abstract levels, these modifications must be propagated in the other ones. How could we help the designer to propagate the modifications made in a program ' This is the question we try to answer in this thesis.

We work as follow. Through case studies, we examine closely the different types of modifications made to a database as well as their possible propagation at all levels of design. A better understanding of the situation is given by these analyses. After, we formalize strategies that are enable to solve the problems underscored during the examination of case studies. Further on, we set up methodological recommendations, which help the design of flexible databases.

The setting up of those strategies requires a maintenance environment. This environment must enable the representation of data structures at any abstraction level, to establish relations between the different level structures and to keep an image of the transformations made on the structure. In this area, a number of models and theorical concepts already exists. However, the environment is improved with a certain amount of elements for the evolution.

Finally, we build on the basis of developed strategies, assistant tools that support the analyst work carrying out maintenance activities. These implementations are build within the scope of the DB-MAIN project.

Date of Award2001
Original languageFrench
Awarding Institution
  • University of Namur
SupervisorJean-Luc Hainaut (Supervisor), Jean Fichefet (Jury), Naji Habra (Jury), Jacques Kouloumdjian (Jury) & Esteban Zimányi (Jury)

Keywords

  • reverse engineering
  • history
  • evolution
  • conversion
  • CASE tools
  • schema transformation

Cite this

Evolution d'applications de bases de données relationnelles
Hick, J. (Author). 2001

Student thesis: Doc typesDoctor of Sciences

Evolution d'applications de bases de données relationnelles

Thèse de l'étudiant: Doc typesDocteur en Sciences

Résumé

Depuis quelques années, des outils d'aide à la conception de bases de données ont fait leur apparition sur le marché. Ces logiciels n'ont eu qu'une faible pénétration dans le développement d'applications. Cet échec est en partie dû au manque de supports fournis au niveau de la maintenance et de l'évolution de bases de données.

Ce travail se focalise sur les problèmes d'évolution dans la conception de bases de données relationnelles. L'activité de conception est divisée en trois parties : le niveau conceptuel, le niveau logique et le niveau physique. Lorsque le concepteur modifie des spécifications dans un des trois niveaux, ces modifications doivent être répercutées dans les autres niveaux. La thèse tente de répondre à la question : Comment aider le concepteur à propager les changements apportés à une application '

Notre démarche est la suivante. Au travers d'études de cas, nous examinons en détail les différents types de modifications apportées à une base de données ainsi que leurs possibles propagations dans tous les niveaux de la conception. Ces analyses apportent une meilleure compréhension de la situation. A partir de là, nous formalisons des stratégies qui permettent de résoudre les problèmes mis en évidence. Ensuite, nous mettons sur pied des recommandations méthodologiques qui aident le concepteur.

La mise en place de stratégies nécessite un environnement de maintenance qui permette la représentation de structures de données à n'importe quel niveau d'abstraction, établit des correspondances entre les structures des différents niveaux et garde une image des transformations appliquées sur une structure. Dans ce contexte, l'environnement de travail est enrichi avec des éléments spécifiques à l'évolution.

Finalement, sur base des stratégies, des outils d'assistance qui supportent le travail de l'analyste responsable des activités de maintenance sont développés dans le cadre du projet DB-MAIN.

Date de réussite2001
langueFrançais
Institution diplomante
  • Université de Namur
SuperviseurJean-Luc Hainaut (Promoteur), Jean Fichefet (Jury), Naji Habra (Jury), Jacques Kouloumdjian (Jury) & Esteban Zimányi (Jury)

mots-clés

  • atelier de génie logiciel
  • bases de données
  • transformation de schéma
  • évolution
  • CASE tools
  • rétro-ingénierie
  • traçabilité

Citer ceci

Evolution d'applications de bases de données relationnelles
Hick, J. (Auteur). 2001

Thèse de l'étudiant: Doc typesDocteur en Sciences