Accès à distance

: fonctionnement, sécurité et implémentation

  • Nicolas Poncelet

    Student thesis: Master typesMaster in Computer science

    Abstract

    Whilst remote access solutions offer a whole new range of services to their users, they could also be at the origin of certain security weaknesses in the information systems of the latter. The end users of remote access technology being composed mostly of businesses, ranging from the plain non-profit organisation to the international banking company, it is quite clear that the security perspective of distant access is not negligeable.

    Hence, the goal of this document is to explore the little known world of distant access as well as the security implications that this type of mecanism presents. We will therefore shed light on the advantages and disadvantages that are withheld within the use of remote access solutions. In order to better understand the risks, in terms of IT security, which could potentially appear while deploying a remote access solution, we will also cover the different technologies upon which these solutions could be based. Certain regulations concerning remote access will be analyzed as well, and we'll finish with some recommendations for improvement.

    This thesis was especially based on the experience and knowledge acquired during the end of studies internship. This internship took place in Senegal within a development team put in place by AQUADEV, a belgian NGO, in a Micro Finance Institutions context. The goal of the internship was precisely to set up a remote access solution which would take into account the different security aspects that will be covered in this thesis.

    Date of Award2006
    Original languageFrench
    SupervisorLAURENT SCHUMACHER (Supervisor)

    Cite this

    Accès à distance: fonctionnement, sécurité et implémentation
    Poncelet, N. (Author). 2006

    Student thesis: Master typesMaster in Computer science

Accès à distance
: fonctionnement, sécurité et implémentation

  • Nicolas Poncelet

    Thèse de l'étudiant: Master typesMaster en sciences informatiques

    Résumé

    Si les solutions d'accès à distance offrent toute une nouvelle gamme de services pour leurs utilisateurs, elles peuvent également ouvrir certaines failles au niveau de la sécurité des systèmes d'information de ces derniers. Les utilisateurs de technologies d'accès à distance étant principalement des entreprises, allant de la simple A.S.B.L. à la société bancaire internationale, il est clair que l'aspect de sécurité des accès distant n'est pas à négliger.

    L'objectif du présent travail est donc d'explorer le monde peu connu de l'accès à distance ainsi que les implications sécuritaire que présente ce mécanisme. Nous passerons donc en revue les avantages et désavantages qui peuvent être apportés par l'accès à distance. Afin de mieux comprendre les risques, en terme de sécurité informatique, qui pourrait potentiellement survenir lors du déploiement d'une solution d'accès à distance, nous couvrirons également les différentes technologies sur lesquelles pourraient être basées ces solutions. Nous analyserons aussi certaines normes qui régulent l'accès à distance et nous terminerons par des propositions d'amélioration.

    Ce mémoire fut notamment basé sur l'expérience et la connaissance acquise durant le stage de fin d'études. Celui-ci s'est déroulé au Sénégal au sein de l'équipe de développement d'AQUADEV, une ONG belge, dans un contexte d'Institutions de Micro Finance. L'objectif de ce stage était précisément de mettre en place une solution d'accès à distance qui tienne justement compte des différents aspects de sécurité qui seront traités dans ce mémoire.

    la date de réponse2006
    langue originaleFrançais
    SuperviseurLAURENT SCHUMACHER (Promoteur)

    mots-clés

    • Dial-up
    • VPN
    • modem
    • Public Switched Telephone Network
    • Internet
    • Micro Finance Institution
    • regulation
    • confidentiality
    • authentication
    • integrity
    • log file

    Contient cette citation

    '