Étude par spectroscopie diode-laser de paramètres collisionnels de raies d'absorption infrarouge du méthane aux basses et hautes températures

Student thesis: Doc typesDoctor of Sciences

Abstract

This work is dedicated to the study of the collisional parameters of methane infrared absorption lines from the low to the high temperatures. A precise knowledge of the spectral parameters and their evolutions with the temperature is required to determine the vertical profile of methane concentration in an atmosphere. The gas mixtures under studied (methane-nitrogen, methane-oxygen and methane-dry air) are relevant for the remote sensing of the Earth’s atmosphere, as well as the one of Titan.

The measurements have been realized using a high resolution two beam tunable diode-laser spectrometer. This tool allows to determine the collisional shift and broadening of lines in the ν3 band of methane for temperatures between 120K and 600K. The collisional parameters have been deduced from individual fit of theoretical lineshape models on the experimental profiles at each partial pressure and each considered temperature. The theoretical models used are the profiles of Voigt, Rautian-Sobel’man, Galatry and a hard collision speed dependent model.

The major part of the results obtained in this thesis are totally originals. Therefore, the comparisons with literature have been complicated. However, they give the opportunity to study the temperature dependence of the considered parameters. The wide range of temperatures allows to study the evolution of the collisional shift and broadening coefficients with a high precision. This is very interesting since the temperature dependence of the collisional line shift parameter is not clearly established in the literature. The measurements realized in this work give the opportunity to compare the different models used in the scientific community.
Date of Award16 Nov 2016
Original languageFrench
Awarding Institution
  • University of Namur
SponsorsFund for Research Training in Industry and Agriculture (FRIA)
SupervisorMuriel Lepere (Supervisor), Laurent HOUSSIAU (President), Miguel Dhyne (Jury), Marie-Renée DE BACKER - BARILLY (Jury) & M. Herman (Jury)

Attachment to an Research Institute in UNAMUR

  • ILEE

Keywords

  • infrared spectroscopy
  • Methane
  • Diode-laser spectroscopy
  • Collisional parameters
  • Line-shapes

Cite this

Étude par spectroscopie diode-laser de paramètres collisionnels de raies d'absorption infrarouge du méthane aux basses et hautes températures
Vispoel, B. (Author). 16 Nov 2016

Student thesis: Doc typesDoctor of Sciences

Étude par spectroscopie diode-laser de paramètres collisionnels de raies d'absorption infrarouge du méthane aux basses et hautes températures

Thèse de l'étudiant: Doc typesDocteur en Sciences

Résumé

Ce travail est dédié à l’étude de paramètres collisionnels de raies d’absorption infrarouge du méthane depuis les basses jusqu’aux hautes températures. Une connaissance précise des paramètres spectraux et de leurs évolutions avec la température est requise pour la détermination des profils verticaux de concentration de méthane dans une atmosphère. La nature des mélanges étudiés (méthane-azote, méthane-oxygène et méthane-air sec) est d’un intérêt majeur pour le sondage de l’atmosphère terrestre mais aussi celle de Titan.

Les mesures ont été effectuées au moyen d’un spectromètre diode-laser double voie accordable en fréquence de haute résolution. Cet instrument a permis de mesurer le déplacement et l’élargissement collisionnel de raie de la bande ν3 du méthane pour des températures comprises entre 120K et 600K. Les paramètres spectraux ont été déterminés par l’ajustement individuel de profils de raies théoriques sur le profil expérimental pour toutes les pressions et températures considérées. Les profils théoriques employés sont ceux de Voigt, Rautian-Sobel’man, Galatry et un modèle de collisions dures dépendant en vitesse.

Les résultats obtenus au moyen des appareils de mesure du Laboratoire Lasers et Spectroscopies de l’Université de Namur sont en grande partie originaux. Les comparaisons avec la littérature ont été difficiles. Cependant, ils ont permis d’étudier la dépendance en température des paramètres spectraux considérés. Nos mesures sur une large plage de températures offrent la possibilité d’appréhender l’évolution des coefficients de déplacement et d’élargissement collisionnel avec une grande précision. Ceci est particulièrement intéressant pour le paramètre de déplacement collisionnel dont la dépendance en température n’est pas formellement établie dans la littérature. Les expériences menées dans le cadre de cette thèse permettent de confronter différents modèles utilisés par la communauté scientifique.
Date de réussite16 nov. 2016
langueFrançais
Institution diplomante
  • Université de Namur
SponsorsFund for Research Training in Industry and Agriculture (FRIA)
SuperviseurMuriel Lepere (Promoteur), Laurent Houssiau (Président), Miguël Dhyne (Jury), Marie-Renée DE BACKER - BARILLY (Jury) & M. Herman (Jury)

Attachement à un institut de recherche reconnus à l'UNAMUR

  • ILEE

mots-clés

  • Spectroscopie infrarouge
  • Méthane
  • Spectroscopie diode-laser
  • Paramètres collisionnels
  • Profils spectraux

Citer ceci

Étude par spectroscopie diode-laser de paramètres collisionnels de raies d'absorption infrarouge du méthane aux basses et hautes températures
Vispoel, B. (Auteur). 16 nov. 2016

Thèse de l'étudiant: Doc typesDocteur en Sciences