Les topic models au service de l’histoire d’un genre vidéoludique. Vers une représentation non périodique de l’évolution du contenu textuel des jeux de rôle sur ordinateur entre 1992 et 2017

Translated title of the contribution: Using Topic Models to Study the History of a Video Game Genre: Towards a Non-Periodic Representation of Changes in the Textual Content of Computer Role-Playing Games between 1992 and 2017

Fanny Barnabé, Nicolas Bourgeois

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

Abstract

Using Topic Models to Study the History of a Video Game Genre: Towards a Non-Periodic Representation of Changes in the Textual Content of Computer Role-Playing Games between 1992 and 2017. This paper shows how researchers can combine and exploit mathematical tools still rarely used by historians (topic models, hierarchical classification, self-organizing maps) to study a dated but heterogeneous historical corpus and to characterize its evolution over time. The analysis focuses on changes in the vocabulary used by a set of 21 popular western role-playing video games published between 1992 and 2017 and comprising a total of 17.5 million words. Through this example, we aim to shed new light on the canonical history of the genre and to propose an alternative model to periodization for uncovering the trade-offs and influences underlying the development of each particular game must negotiate with.

Translated title of the contributionUsing Topic Models to Study the History of a Video Game Genre: Towards a Non-Periodic Representation of Changes in the Textual Content of Computer Role-Playing Games between 1992 and 2017
Original languageFrench
Pages (from-to)199-233
Number of pages35
JournalHistoire et Mesure
Volume36
Issue number2
DOIs
Publication statusPublished - 1 Jul 2022
Externally publishedYes

Fingerprint

Dive into the research topics of 'Using Topic Models to Study the History of a Video Game Genre: Towards a Non-Periodic Representation of Changes in the Textual Content of Computer Role-Playing Games between 1992 and 2017'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this

Les topic models au service de l’histoire d’un genre vidéoludique. Vers une représentation non périodique de l’évolution du contenu textuel des jeux de rôle sur ordinateur entre 1992 et 2017

Fanny Barnabé, Nicolas Bourgeois

Résultats de recherche: Contribution à un journal/une revueArticleRevue par des pairs

Résumé

Cet article propose de montrer comment des outils mathématiques encore peu employés par les historiens (topic models, classification hiérarchique, carte auto-orga- nisatrice) peuvent être combinés et exploités pour l’étude d’un corpus historique daté, mais hétérogène, afin d’en caractériser les évolutions temporelles. Le fil conducteur de l’étude sera d’examiner l’évolution du vocabulaire employé par un ensemble de 21 jeux vidéo de rôle occidentaux à forte audience, publiés entre 1992 et 2017, pour un total de 17,5 millions de mots. Nous nous efforcerons, au travers de cette analyse, d’apporter un nouvel éclairage à l’histoire canonique du genre et de proposer un modèle alternatif à la périodisation afin de mettre au jour les tensions et influences avec lesquelles chaque jeu particulier doit négocier.
Titre traduit de la contributionUsing Topic Models to Study the History of a Video Game Genre: Towards a Non-Periodic Representation of Changes in the Textual Content of Computer Role-Playing Games between 1992 and 2017
langue originaleFrançais
Pages (de - à)199-233
Nombre de pages35
journalHistoire et Mesure
Volume36
Numéro de publication2
Les DOIs
Etat de la publicationPublié - 1 juil. 2022
Modification externeOui

mots-clés

  • computer role-playing game (CRPG)
  • game studies
  • graphs
  • lexicometry
  • topic models
  • twentieth-twenty-first centuries

Empreinte digitale

Examiner les sujets de recherche de « Les topic models au service de l’histoire d’un genre vidéoludique. Vers une représentation non périodique de l’évolution du contenu textuel des jeux de rôle sur ordinateur entre 1992 et 2017 ». Ensemble, ils forment une empreinte digitale unique.

Contient cette citation