Zooplankton inoculation into large river systems - approaches through the examination of clonal diversity in rotifers, and the study of resting egg banks

  • VIROUX, Laurent (PI)

Project: Research

Project Details

Description

Small-bodied metazoan zooplankton can prosper even in flowing waters. However, unidirectional flow is a unique characteristic of these environments, antagonistic to the persistence of plankton in the ecosystem. The repeated observation of organisms at any given point along a river implies, under the current state of our knowledge, that new individuals are constantly recruited from a variety of 'sources' intuitively located upstream. Even if many types of aquatic environments have been suggested as potential sources of inocula, their identity and location remains largely unknown, particularly in river systems like the Meuse in Belgium, whose floodplain has been largely modified by human activities.
The first aim of this study is to locate the major source(s) of zooplankton along the course of the Meuse. We use a method based on the examination of clonal structure in populations of two rotifers abundant in the river, Brachionus calyciflorus and Keratella cochlearis. Our work hypothesis is that populations originating from distinct sources could belong to different clonal lines, and that various clones could co-exist once inoculated. The analysis of allozyme patterns is our primary laboratory tool, given its versatility. The use of nuclear markers such as microsatellite DNA is envisaged.

A still poorly understood aspect of plankton inoculation into river systems is the speedy recovery of populations following periods of unfavourable hydrological conditions such as spates. It is unlikely that growth resumes only from 'relictual' populations spared by the flow. Our hypothesis is that dormant stages characteristic of the life cycle of small zooplankton, could play a role in this quick recruitment, and contribute largely to the global dynamics of inoculation.
Our second aim is to evaluate the existence of such 'seed banks' in the sediment of the Meuse and its associated water bodies, quantify them, examine their hatching potential and the species producing them
StatusFinished
Effective start/end date1/01/0030/09/03

Keywords

  • large river systems
  • zooplankton
  • rotifers

Inoculation des milieux fluviaux en zooplancton - approches par l'examen de la diversité clonale chez les rotifères et l'étude des banques de propagules

Projet: Recherche

Description

D'importantes populations de zooplancton peuvent prospérer en eaux courantes, mais le transfert de la masse d'eau s'oppose à leur persistance dans l'écosystème. L'observation répétée de zooplancton en un point du cours suppose, dans l'état actuel des connaissances, le remplacement des organismes charriés vers l'aval par d'autres provenant de 'sources' nécessairement sises en amont. Si de nombreux types de milieux ont été proposés comme sources potentielles d'inocula, leur identité demeure inconnue, particulièrement dans les systèmes fluviaux comme la Meuse en Belgique, dont la plaine alluviale a été fortement modifiée.
Notre premier objectif est de localiser la ou les sources majeure(s) d'apports en zooplancton dans le cours de la Meuse. Nous utilisons une méthode basée sur la structure clonale des populations de deux espèces de rotifères abondantes, Brachionus calyciflorus et Keratella cochlearis. Notre hypothèse est que des populations originaires de sources distinctes appartiennent à des types clonaux différents, et que plusieurs lignées peuvent coexister dans la masse d'eau suite à l'inoculation. L'analyse des patrons d'allozymes nous sert de technique de base. L'utilisation de marqueurs tels que les ADN microsatellitaires est envisagée.

Un autre aspect mal compris du développement planctonique en milieu fluvial est la rapide reconstitution des populations dès que les conditions hydrologiques se stabilisent. Il apparaît peu probable que cette croissance nouvelle s'opère uniquement à partir de populations 'reliques' épargnées par les crues. Notre hypothèse est que les stades dormants caractérisant le cycle vital du zooplancton jouent un rôle dans ce recrutement rapide, et par extension dans la dynamique d'inoculation.
Notre second objectif est de mettre en évidence l'existence de telles 'banques' d''ufs de durée dans le sédiment de la Meuse et de ses milieux annexes, de les quantifier, d'examiner la viabilité de ces 'ufs ainsi que les espèces concernées.
statutFini
Les dates de début/date réelle1/01/0030/09/03

mots-clés

  • zooplancton
  • rotifères
  • rotiferes