Project Details

Description

Rates of domestic violence and the relative risk of premature death for women are higher in sub-Saharan Africa than in any other region. Yet we know remarkably little about the economic forces, incentives and constraints that drive discrimination against women in this region, making it hard to identify policy levers to address the problem. This project will help fill this gap.
I will investigate gender discrimination from two complementary perspectives. First, through the lens of economic history, I will investigate the forces driving trends in women’s relative well-being since slavery. To quantify the evolution of well-being of sub-Saharan women relative to men, I will use three types of historical data: anthropometric indicators (relative height), vital statistics (to compute numbers of missing women), and outcomes of formal and informal family law disputes. I will then investigate how major economic developments and changes in family laws differentially affected women’s welfare across ethnic groups with different norms on women’s roles and rights.
Second, using intra-household economic models, I will provide new insights into domestic violence and gender bias in access to crucial resources in present-day Africa. I will develop a new household model that incorporates gender identity and endogenous outside options to explore the relationship between women’s empowerment and the use of violence. Using the notion of strategic delegation, I will propose a new rationale for the separation of budgets often observed in African households and generate predictions of how improvements in women’s outside options affect welfare. Finally, with first hand data, I will investigate intra-household differences in nutrition and work effort in times of food shortage from the points of view of efficiency and equity. I will use activity trackers as an innovative means of collecting high quality data on work effort and thus overcome data limitations restricting the existing literature
AcronymAFRICAN WOMEN - Grant agreement ID: 759294
StatusActive
Effective start/end date1/08/1831/07/23

Funding

  • European Commission - ERC

Attachment to an Research Institute in UNAMUR

  • DeFiPP

Fingerprint

Explore the research topics touched on by this project. These labels are generated based on the underlying awards/grants. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Détails du projet

Description

Les taux de violence domestique et le risque relatif de décès prématuré chez les femmes sont plus élevés en Afrique subsaharienne que dans toute autre région. Pourtant, nous en savons remarquablement peu sur les forces économiques, les incitations et les contraintes qui sont à l'origine de la discrimination à l'égard des femmes dans cette région, ce qui rend difficile l'identification des leviers politiques permettant de résoudre le problème. Ce projet contribuera à combler cette lacune.
J'examinerai la discrimination fondée sur le sexe sous deux angles complémentaires. Tout d'abord, à travers le prisme de l'histoire économique, j'examinerai les forces qui déterminent les tendances du bien-être relatif des femmes depuis l'esclavage. Pour quantifier l'évolution du bien-être des femmes subsahariennes par rapport aux hommes, j'utiliserai trois types de données historiques : les indicateurs anthropométriques (taille relative), les statistiques de l'état civil (pour calculer le nombre de femmes disparues) et les résultats des litiges formels et informels en droit de la famille. J'examinerai ensuite comment les développements économiques majeurs et les changements dans les lois familiales ont affecté différemment le bien-être des femmes à travers les groupes ethniques avec des normes différentes sur les rôles et les droits des femmes.
Deuxièmement, à l'aide de modèles économiques intra-ménages, j'apporterai de nouvelles perspectives sur la violence domestique et les préjugés sexistes dans l'accès aux ressources cruciales en Afrique aujourd'hui. J'élaborerai un nouveau modèle de ménage qui intègre l'identité de genre et les options externes endogènes pour explorer la relation entre l'autonomisation des femmes et le recours à la violence. En utilisant la notion de délégation stratégique, je proposerai une nouvelle justification pour la séparation des budgets souvent observée dans les ménages africains et je ferai des prédictions sur la façon dont l'amélioration des options extérieures des femmes affecte le bien-être. Enfin, avec des données de première main, j'étudierai les différences intra-ménage en matière de nutrition et d'effort de travail en période de pénurie alimentaire du point de vue de l'efficacité et de l'équité. J'utiliserai les traqueurs d'activité comme moyen innovateur de recueillir des données de haute qualité sur l'effort de travail et de surmonter ainsi les limitations de données qui limitent la littérature existante.
AcronymeAFRICAN WOMEN - Grant agreement ID: 759294
statutEn cours d'exécution
Les dates de début/date réelle1/08/1831/07/23

Financement

  • Commision Européenne - ERC

Attachement à un institut de recherche reconnus à l'UNAMUR

  • DeFiPP