Télévie: Design and enzymatic evaluation of new inhibitors of the serin metabolic pathway as potential anticancer agents : structural and functional approach of PHDGH and PSAT1.

Project: Research

Description

This project aims to understand the role of the serine pathway in tumor progression and in particular to develop pharmacological tools to evaluate the extent of tumor addiction to this metabolic path and their therapeutic potential by exploring potential side effects on healthy tissues.
To this end, novel innovative pharmacological inhibitors of PHGDH and PSAT1, the two main enzymes of the serine pathway, will be designed and chemically synthesized. These compounds will help deciphering the exact roles of these enzymes in cancer progression and will provide insights on their physiological roles.
This project will benefit from a collaboration between UNamur (Prof J.Wouters, structural study through protein crystallography and modelling ) and UCL (Prof R.Frédérick ( LDRI ) medicinal chemistry and chemical synthesis & Prof O.Feron ( IREC ) tumor hypoxia and metabolism). Together, this combined complementary expertise will allow
i) the design and synthesis of novel anticancer agents using a structure- guided drug design strategy and
ii) the biological evaluation on the tumor metabolism of the inhibitors via cellular testing.
StatusFinished
Effective start/end date1/10/1530/09/17

Télévie: Conception et évaluation d'inhibiteurs originaux de la voie de la sérine en tant qu’agents anticancéreux : etude structurale et fonctionnelle des enzymes PHDGH et PSAT1.

Projet: Recherche

Détails du projet

Description

Ce projet vise à comprendre le rôle de la voie de la sérine dans la progression tumorale et en particulier de développer les outils pharmacologiques nécessaires pour évaluer d’une part l'ampleur de la dépendance des tumeurs à cette voie métabolique et, d’autre part, le potentiel thérapeutique de ces outils pharmacologiques en explorant leurs effets secondaires potentiels sur des tissus sains.
Pour atteindre cet objectif, de nouveaux inhibiteurs pharmacologiques innovants de PHGDH et PSAT1, les deux principales enzymes de la voie de la sérine, seront conçus et préparés par synthèse chimique. Ces composés permettront d’étudier le rôle exact de ces enzymes dans la progression du cancer et fourniront également des indications importantes sur leurs rôles physiologiques.
Ce projet bénéficiera d’une collaboration étroite entre l’UNamur (Prof J.Wouters, étude structurale par cristallographie et modélisation) et l’UCL (Prof R.Frédérick ( LDRI ) synthèse de composés chimiques et Prof O.Feron ( IREC ) hypoxie et métabolisme tumorales) en vue de
i) la conception de nouveaux agents anticancéreux en utilisant des stratégies de conception de médicaments basées sur la structure de la cible thérapeutique et
ii) l’évaluation des inhibiteurs sur le métabolisme tumoral via tests cellulaires.
statutFini
Les dates de début/date réelle1/10/1530/09/17