Study of nuclear reactions related to astrophysics

Project: Research

Description

Nuclear reactions involved in the CNO cycle during star evolution become competitive when carbon concentration and the star's temperature are sufficiently high. High-energy g-rays (>4MeV) are emitted because those nuclear reactions are mainly exo-energetic. Those reactions are produced between particles contained in the gas and thermally excited, which correspond to energies lower than 200 keV. Reaction rates and therefore cross sections of these reactions are very important to determine the evolution of the star. Unfortunately, a lack of data exists in the literature concerning the cross sections.
Both accelerators situated at LARN (150 kV SAMES implanter and ALTAÏS Tandetron of 2MV) could help us to determine these cross sections. For example, the cross section of the capture reaction 14N(p,g)15O could be measured for energies in the range 20 to 150 keV with the implanter, while the cross section of the reverse 1H(14N,g)15O reaction could be measured at higher energies (between 300 and 4000 keV) using our new Tandetron accelerator.
A better comprehension of the energy creation in the stars will be possible and new star models will be made. This kind of research shows the interactivity between Astrophysicists and Nuclear Physicists.
StatusActive
Effective start/end date31/08/00 → …

Keywords

  • CNO cycle
  • Nuclear Physics
  • Star Evolution
  • Astrophysics

Etude de réactions nucléaires liées à l'astrophysique

Projet: Recherche

Description

Lors de l'évolution d'une étoile, les réactions nucléaires impliquées dans le cycle CNO entrent en jeu lorsque la concentration de carbone et la température interne sont suffisantes. Ces réactions nucléaires exo-énergétiques émettent des rayonnements g d'énergie très élevée (>4 MeV). Ces réactions nucléaires sont produites entre les particules agitées thermiquement du gaz contenu l'étoile, dans un domaine d'énergie inférieur à 200 keV. Il est très important de connaître les vitesses de réaction et donc les sections efficaces à basse énergie car ces dernières sont déterminantes pour suivre l'évolution de l'astre. Malheureusement peu de données existent dans la littérature à ce sujet.
Les deux accélérateurs que nous possédons au LARN (implanteur SAMES 150kV et accélérateur ALTAÏS Tandetron 2MV) permettent de mesurer ces sections efficaces. Par exemple la section efficace de la réaction de capture 14N(p,g)15O peut être mesurée à l'aide de l'implanteur basse énergie en utilisant des protons de 20 à 150 keV tandis que la section efficace de la réaction inverse 1H(14N,g)15O peut être mesurée grâce à notre nouvel accélérateur ALTAÏS pour des énergies allant de 300 à 4000 keV.
Cette recherche conduira à une meilleure compréhension des phénomènes responsables de la libération d'énergie dans les étoiles et de nouveaux modèles d'étoile pourront être élaborés. Cette recherche montre l'interaction indispensable entre Astrophysiciens et Physiciens Nucléaires.
statutEn cours d'exécution
Les dates de début/date réelle31/08/00 → …

mots-clés

  • evolution des etoiles
  • Astrophysique
  • cycle CNO
  • Physique Nucléaire
  • évolution des étoiles
  • Physique Nucleaire