Recombinant polypeptides for antigenic mimicry of bacterial surface polysaccharides

Project: PHD

Project Details

Description

To address efficiently the development polypeptide antigens (surrogate antigens) which mimic bacterial polysaccharides (nominal antigens) the projects links research groups qualified in all known techniques for producing peptide- and antibody-based surrogate antigens.
The distinct approaches consist in the production of i) murine and ii) human single chain fragment anti-idiotype antibodies, and stabilised peptide libraries expressed on the surface of iii) bacteriophages and iv) bacteria and v) produced in vitro. The different strategies are chosen because they each have a different balance of technically ease and applicability to industrial exploitation. Even though methods i and ii may not directly lead to a human vaccine the sequence of the active peptide permits the screening of secondary peptide libraries.
The project will be undertaken in response to the need for effective vaccines for bacteria where a protective human immune-response is often restricted to the polysaccharide surface (capsular) antigens. In Brucella vaccination with whole LPS makes serological distinction of infection and vaccination impossible, while in Vibrio, the capsular polysaccharide exhibit poor immunogenicity and high crossreactivity have been reported for sugar based. In S. pneumoniae conjugate vaccines will not provide a complete solution for the problems with the current vaccine. Since expression of peptides on the surface of bacteria enhances antigen presentation by dendritic cells selected mimotopes will be displayed on recombinant bacteria.
The single parameters evaluated in this comparative approach are: 1) efficiency for producing the requested reagents; 2) specificity of the produced reagents; 3) antigenicity of the mimotopes; 4) protective efficacy in vaccine models. As not bias the results through analysis in a single vaccine model reagents will be developed to three different sugars of three different pathogens.
StatusFinished
Effective start/end date1/09/0131/12/03

Keywords

  • ScFv
  • Brucella
  • mimotope
  • phage display
  • Peptidomimetic

Polypeptides recombinant pour les mimes antigéniques de polysaccharides bactériens de surface

Projet: Projet de thèse

Détails du projet

Description

Pour répondre de façon adéquate au développement d'antigènes polypeptidiques (antigènes substituts) qui miment les polysaccharides bactériens (antigènes nominaux), le project lie des groupes de recherche qualifiés pour toutes les techniques connues pour produire des antigènes substituts sous forme de peptides ou d'anticorps.
Les approches distinctes consistent en la production de scFv murins et humains anti-idiotypiques, et des peptides stabilisés présentés en surface de bactériophages, de bactéries ou produits in vitro. Les différentes stratégies sont choisies car elles ont chacune un avantage soit au niveau technologique, soit au niveau de leur applicabilité pour l'exploitation industrielle. Même si l'approche de sélection de scFv murins ou humains ne permettent pas de mener directement à des vaccins humains, la séquence des paptides actifs permet le criblage de banques de seconde génération.

Le project est entrepris en réponse au besoin de vaccin efficaces pour les bactéries où une réponse immune protectrice est souvent restreinte aux antigènes polysaccharidiques de surface (capsulaires). Chez Brucella, la vaccination avec le LPS entier provoque un manque de distinction entre l'infection et la vaccination, tandis que pour Vibrio, le lipopolysaccharide capsulaire est faiblement immunogénique et des réponses croisées ont été observées pour des antigènes sucrés. Chez S. pneumoniae, les vaccins conjugués (protéines-polysaccharides) ne vont pas donner une solution complète aux problèmes rencontrés avec les vaccins actuels. Comme l'expression de peptides en surface de bactéries stimule la présentation des antigens par les cellules dentritiques, les mimotopes sélectionnés vont être présentés en surface de bactéries recombinantes.
statutFini
Les dates de début/date réelle1/09/0131/12/03

mots-clés

  • ScFv
  • peptidomimetique
  • Brucella
  •   ScFv
  • mimotope
  • peptidomimétique
  • phage display

Empreinte digitale

Explorez les thèmes de recherche abordés par ce projet. Ces libellés sont générés sur la base des prix/subventions sous-jacents. Ensemble, ils forment une empreinte digitale unique.