Predicting Aquatic Ecosystem Quality using Artificial Neural Networks: Impact of Environmental characteristics on the Structure of Aquatic Communities (Algae, Benthic and Fish Fauna) (EVK1-CT1999- 00026)

Project: Research

Project Details

Description

The goal of the PAEQANN project was to develop general methodologies, based on advanced modelling techniques, for predicting structure and diversity of key aquatic communities (diatoms, micro-invertebrates and fish), under natural (i.e. undisturbed by human activities) and under man-made disturbance (i.e. submitted to various pollutions, discharge regulation, ...). Such an approach to the analysis of aquatic communities will make it possible to:
i)set up robust and sensitive ecosystem evaluation procedures that will work across a large range of running water ecosystems throughout European countries;
ii)predict biocenosis structure in disturbed ecosystems, taking into account all relevant ecological variables;
iii)test for ecosystem sensitivity to disturbance;
iv)explore specific actions to be taken for restoration of ecosystem integrity.
Our investigations will therefore help to define strategies for conservation and restoration, compatible with local and regional development, and supported by a strong scientific background. Among the available modelling techniques, artificial neural networks are particularly appropriate for establishing relationships among variables in the natural processes that shape ecosystems, as these relationship are frequently non-linear.
LFE (Laboratory of Freshwater Ecology, URBO, FUNDP) is in charge of coordinating the work on benthic diatom communities and was organising the first PAEQANN workshop (http://www.sciences.fundp.ac.be/ paeqann).
AcronymPAEQANN
StatusFinished
Effective start/end date1/03/0028/02/03

Keywords

  • Modelling
  • Ecology
  • Community structure
  • Health of water ecosystem
  • Management

Prédiction de la qualité des écosystèmes aquatiques par l'utilisation de réseaux de neurones artificiels: impact des caractéristiques environnementales sur la structure des communautés aquatiques (algues, macorinvertébrés et poissons) (EVK1-CT1999- 00026)

Projet: Recherche

Description

L'objectif du projet PAEQANN est de développer des méthodologies générales, basées sur des techniques de modélisation de pointe, pour prédire la structure et la diversité des communautés aquatiques clés (diatomées, micro-invertébrés et poissons), en conditions naturelles (càd non perturbées par les activités humaines) et en conditions de perturbations anthropiques (càd de différentes pollutions, régulation du débit, ...). Une telle approche de l'analyse des communautés aquatiques pourra permettre de:
i)mettre au point des procédures d'évaluation robustes et sensibles, capables d'être applicables à large échelle pour les écosystèmes d'eaux courantes en Europe;
ii)prédire la structure des biocénoses dans les écosystèmes perturbés, en prenant en compte les variables écologiques relevantes;
iii)tester la sensibilité des écosystèmes aux perturbations;
iv)explorer les actions spécifiques à prendre pour la restauration de l'intégrité écologique des écosystèmes aquatiques.
Nos investigations vont dès lors aider à définir des stratégies pour la conservation et la restauration, compatible avec le développement local et régional, et appuyé par des connaissances scientifiques solides. Parmi les techniques de modélisation disponibles, les réseaux de neurones artificiels sont particulièrement appropriés pour l'établissement de relations entre variables environnementales et les assemblages biologiques qui composent les écosystèmes, étant donné que ces relations sont fréquemment non-linéaires.
L'URBO est en charge de la coordination du travail sur les diatomées benthiques et a organisé le premier workshop PAEQANN
(http://www.sciences.fundp.ac.be/paeqann).
L'acronymePAEQANN
statutFini
Les dates de début/date réelle1/03/0028/02/03

mots-clés

  • qualité des écosystèmes aquatiques
  • qualite des ecosystemes aquatiques
  • Ecologie
  • Structure des communautes
  • Structure des communautés