Multiplex Analysis of the Global Interdependent Country-Country Network

Project: Research

Description

Globalization created a space in which all countries became interdependent. Full autharchy at the country level has gone practically extinct. Countries need each other, in different and interdependent ways. No country can produce by itself everything that its citizens need: it has to sell and buy products on the international market. Complex interdependencies in collaboration networks require millions of people flowing from one country to the other for business, scientific and political exchanges. Supply and demand of skilled and unskilled labor is fluid and drives people to migrate from one country to another. These are some of the ways in which countries can relate to each other economically.
These relations can be represented by networks with multiple relation types, called multiplex networks. Multiplex network analysis is a novel branch of complex network analysis, which has gathered a significant amount of attention from researchers worldwide. While network scientists have started uncovering the fundamental mechanics of multiplex networks, the empirical analysis and practical applications of these new objects are still in their infancy. This is the main aim of this project: to gather data about multiplex networks between countries, and to develop algorithms, analytic frameworks and visualization techniques to increase our proficiency in dealing with such complex objects.
We will build country multiplex networks using datasets from different sources, connecting countries if between them we observe significant business relationships, high migration flows, intensive trade, large passenger traffic, cultural similarities, and so on. The aim is to explain the interdependence between these relationships and the consequences of severing one or more of these channels; to understand the connection between the centrality of a country in this multidimensional space and its economic development; and to visualize these global relationships.
AcronymMAGIC-CoNe
StatusFinished
Effective start/end date1/10/1530/09/18

Analyse Multiplexe du Réseau d’Interdépendances entre Pays

Projet: Recherche

Description

La mondialisation a créé une situation où l’ensemble des pays du globe sont devenus interdépendants, et où la présence de pays isolés a pratiquement disparu. Les pays ont besoin les uns des autres, de façons différentes et interdépendantes. Aucun pays ne peut produire seul tout ce dont ses citoyens ont besoin: il doit vendre et acheter des produits sur le marché international. De plus, des millions de personnes affluent d'un pays à l'autre pour des échanges commerciaux, scientifiques et politiques. L'offre et la demande de main-d'œuvre qualifiée et non-qualifiée rendent la mobilité relativement fluide, et incitent à la migration d'un pays à l'autre. Echanges commerciaux et flux migratoires sont deux exemples parmi la palette d’interactions qui caractérisent les relations entre pays.
Cet ensemble de relations peut être représenté par des réseaux composés de plusieurs types de relations différentes, appelés réseaux multiplexes. L'analyse des réseaux multiplexes est une nouvelle branche de l'analyse des réseaux complexes, qui a récemment reçu une attention considérable à travers le monde. Cependant, une extrême majorité des études s’est focalisée sur des aspects théoriques, souvent coupés de la réalité. L'analyse empirique et les applications pratiques de ces nouveaux objets n’en sont encore qu’à leurs balbutiements. Ces deux questions seront le but principal de ce projet: rassembler des données sur les réseaux multiplexes entre pays, et développer des algorithmes, des cadres analytiques et des techniques de visualisation pour améliorer notre capacité de traitement de ces objets complexes.
Les réseaux multiplexes seront construits en utilisant des ensembles de données provenant de différentes sources, et intégreront des relations d'affaires, de flux migratoires, de commerce, de trafic de voyageurs, de similitudes culturelles, etcetera. Le but est d'expliquer l'interdépendance entre ces relations et les conséquences de la modification d'un ou plusieurs de ces canaux sur les autres; de comprendre le lien entre la centralité d'un pays dans cet espace multidimensionnel et son développement économique; et de visualiser ces relations au niveau mondial.
L'acronymeMAGIC-CoNe
statutFini
Les dates de début/date réelle1/10/1530/09/18