Microarray to monitor gene expression in breat tumors

Project: Research

Project Details

Description

In Western countries, about 1 of 10 women will suffer from breast carcinoma. Despite considerable advances in surgical techniques and in treatments (radio-, chemo-, and hormonotherapy), the mortality due to this pathology is still high, concerning about 40% of patients. In most cases, the death results from the dissemination of cancer cells and their proliferation in secondary sites (metastasis).

To ensure a better diagnosis, characterization, and treatment of breast tumors, new approaches are needed besides the classical clinicopathological analysis. They should mainly help the clinician to prognose the evolution of tumors, including their metastasis sites, as well as to predict the response of these tumors to various therapies.

Recent advances have shown that the expression of dozens of genes changes during breast tissue transformation and tumor progression. This project aims to develop a fast, reliable and low cost analysis tool to simultaneously measure the expression level these genes.

We believe that, at the present time, the only analysis tool allowing these requirements is a breast cancer-specific DNA chip. The project consists in the elaboration of low density microarray, bearing about 130 capture probes highly specific of mRNA whose expression has been shown to vary in breast cancer.
AcronymTumochips
StatusFinished
Effective start/end date1/01/0131/12/02

Keywords

  • DNA microarray
  • diagnostic
  • prognostic
  • breast cancer

Micro-damier pour le suivi de d'expression génique dans les tumeurs mammaires

Projet: Recherche

Détails du projet

Description

Dans nos régions, une femme sur 10 est touchée par le cancer du sein. En dépis des progrès considérables en chirurgie et traitements (radio-, chimio-, et hormonothérapie), le taux de mortalité du à cette pathologie reste élevé et concerne environ 40% des patientes. Dans la plupart des cas, la mort résulte de la dissémination des cellules tumorales et leur prolifération dans des sites secondaires (métastases).

Ceci impose des moyens supplémentaires et novateurs d'analyse des tumeurs, pour assurer leur détection rapide, leur caractérisation, et améliorer de leur traitement. Ils devraient aider le clinicien à prédire l'évolution des tumeurs, incluant leurs sites de métastase ainsi que la réponse des tumeurs à diverses thérapies.

Des études récentes ont montré que l'expression de plusieurs dizaines varie suite à la transformation du tissu mammaire en tumeur, ainsi qu'au cours de l'aggravation du processus cancéreux. L'objet de notre projet est de développer un moyen de mesurer rapidement, de manière reproductible et à faible coût, le taux d'expression des gènes précités.

A ce jour, le seul outil pouvant répondre à ces exigences est un biochip "dédié " au cancer du sein. Notre projet consiste à fabriquer un micro-damier à faible densité, supportant environ 130 sondes de capture hautement spécifiques d'ARNm dont le taux varie dans le cancer du sein.
AcronymeTumochips
statutFini
Les dates de début/date réelle1/01/0131/12/02

mots-clés

  • microdamier à ADN
  • pronostic
  • diagnostic
  • microdamier a ADN
  • cancer du sein