Local electrochemical and spectroscopic study of the corrosion inhibition of zinc-coated steel by means of chromic treatments and self-assembled monolayers

Project: PHD

Description

The purpose of this thesis work is the simultaneous application of local electrochemical techniques, such as the scanning Kelvin probe, in addition to spectroscopic and traditional electrochemical methods. These investigative tools are used in order to advance the understanding of the corrosion inhibition mechanisms of chromated galvanised steels.
Our interest was specifically focused on an industrial passivation treatment. For the study of this treatment, we started by using classical means : XPS and Auger spectroscopies were used to get information about the nature of the deposited layers and polarization curves were built to evaluate their inhibitive effect.
The following step of our study consisted in using the scanning Kelvin probe to evidence, in atmospheric corrosion, the exclusively cathodic inhibition mode linked to the industrial passivation treatment. Other aspects such as the influence of phosphates or the evolution of the chromic treatment in a corrosive medium were investigated by the measurement of local corrosion potentials and of local current densities.
The transposition of this type of study to a case of laboratory passivation treatment, completed by polarization and exposition to UV-ozone tests, allowed us to bring to light the essential role of the surfactants in the corrosion inhibition mechanism linked to this particular kind of treatment.
An additional study stressed the existence of a synergy between surface active molecules and the chromic treatment. It also emphasised the influence of this synergy on the corrosion resistance of chromated substrates.
Furthermore, the measurement of delamination profiles enabled us to show the influence of the chromating treatment and the surfactant on the corrosion of polymer-coated metal surfaces.
This work is concluded by addressing an environmental preoccupation, under the heading of replacing chromic treatments by the grafting of n-pentylphosphonic acids on aluminum oxide and zinc oxide.
StatusFinished
Effective start/end date1/09/9913/05/02

Keywords

  • corrosion
  • chromated galvanised steels
  • local electrochemical techniques

Etude électrochimique locale et spectroscopique de l'inhibition de la corrosion des aciers zingués par des traitements chromiques et par des monocouches auto-assemblées

Projet: Projet de thèse

Détails du projet

Description

L'objectif de cette thèse est l'application conjointe des techniques électrochimiques locales, en particulier de la sonde de Kelvin à balayage, et des méthodes spectroscopiques et électrochimiques traditionnelles afin de progresser dans la compréhension des mécanismes d'inhibition de la corrosion des aciers galvanisés chromatés.
Notre intérêt s'est tout particulièrement porté sur un traitement de passivation couramment utilisé industriellement. Celui-ci est préalablement étudié de façon classique, les spectroscopies XPS et Auger renseignant sur la nature des couches formées, la réalisation de courbes de polarisation permettant d'évaluer leur action inhibitrice.
La sonde de Kelvin à balayage met en évidence, en corrosion atmosphérique, le mode d'inhibition exclusivement cathodique lié au traitement de passivation industriel. D'autres aspects tels que l'influence des phosphates ou l'évolution du traitement chromique en milieu corrosif sont investigués par la détermination des potentiels de corrosion locaux et des densités de courant locales.
La transposition de ce type d'études au cas d'un traitement de passivation de laboratoire, complétée par des essais de polarisation et d'exposition à l'UV-ozone, met clairement en évidence le rôle essentiel des agents tensioactifs dans le mécanisme d'inhibition de la corrosion lié à ce type de traitement.
Une étude plus approfondie démontre la synergie existant entre les molécules tensioactives et le traitement chromique et l'influence que cette dernière peut avoir sur la tenue à la corrosion des substrats chromatés.
Finalement, la réalisation de profils de délamination permet de rendre compte de l'influence du traitement de chromatation et de la présence du tensioactif sur la corrosion sous peinture.
Dans un souci environnemental, ce travail est clôturé par une évaluation du greffage d'acides n-pentylphosphoniques sur oxydes d'aluminium et de zinc comme alternative aux traitements chromiques.
statutFini
Les dates de début/date réelle1/09/9913/05/02

mots-clés

  • corrosion
  • techniques électrochimiques locales
  • techniques electrochimiques locales
  • aciers galvanises chromates
  • aciers galvanisés chromatés