Integrated Research Program on Environment and Water : characterization of ecological quality of surface water and part of riparian zones (RW)

Project: Research

Project Details

Description

The PIRENE programme aims to develop a tool for decision making aid in water resources management at the scale of the Walloon Region. This tool of modeling will integrate in the same approach soils, surface water, groundwater and wetlands, regarding quantitative and qualitative aspects, and that on several scales (sub-basins, catchment areas and Walloon area). It will also have a systematic, multidisciplinary approach linking technical, economic, sociological and juridical aspects. Eighteen partners coming from universities/institutes/consultancies in the French Community of Belgium take part in this programme. This project is coordinated by the Center Environment of University of Liège and is financed by the Ministère de la Région Wallonne. A particular reference is made to the EU Framework Directive for water management, and in particular, regarding 'ecological quality of surface water' aspects

The contribution of the URBO supports by two aspects : the quality of surface water and the riparian zones.

- With regard to the first aspect, the main objective is to develop, in collaboration with the services of the Ministère de la Région Wallonne concerned, a system of evaluation of the ecological state of the rivers. Such a system must integrate the three aspects of ecological quality, i.e. the physical and chemical water quality, biological quality and the physical quality of habitat (evaluated by the Environment ' Water laboratory of F.U.L.). A second objective is to establish a predictive model of the evolution of the ecological quality of rivers.
- On the level of banks, the vegetation plays a significant role regarding retention of the nutriments and the sediments resulting from the running of agricultural lands. The aim is then to integrate in modeling the buffer role played by the riparian zones(participation of the GIREA).
AcronymPIRENE
StatusFinished
Effective start/end date1/11/0031/12/04

Keywords

  • water
  • surface water
  • ecological quality
  • environment
  • buffer strips

Programme Intégré de Recherche Environnement ' Eau (PIRENE) ' caractérisation de la qualité écologique des eaux de surface et rôle des bandes riveraines (convention RW)

  • DESCY, Jean-Pierre (Responsable du Projet)
  • Fauville, Claude, (Chercheur)
  • GOSSELAIN, Veronique, (Chercheur)

Projet: Recherche

Description

Le programme PIRENE a pour objectif de mettre au point un outil d'aide à la décision en matière de gestion intégrée des ressources en eau en région wallonne. Cet outil de modélisation intègrera dans une même approche les sols, eaux souterraines, eaux de surface et zones humides, pour les aspects quantitatifs et qualitatifs et cela à plusieurs échelles (sous-bassins, bassins hydrographiques et région wallonne). Il aura également une approche systématique, multidisciplinaire liant les aspects techniques, économiques, sociologiques et juridiques. Dix huit équipes provenant des différentes universités francophones de Belgique ou de bureaux d'études participent à ce programme. Ce projet est coordonné par le Centre Environnement de l'Université de Liège et financé par le Ministère de la Région Wallonne. Une référence particulière est faite à la directive cadre de l'Union Européenne en matière de gestion des ressources en eau, en particulier, pour les aspects « qualité écologique des eaux de surface ».
La contribution de l'URBO repose sur deux aspects : la qualité des eaux de surface et les bandes riveraines.
·En ce qui concerne le premier aspect, l'objectif principal est de mettre au point, en collaboration avec les services de la Région Wallonne concernés, un système d'évaluation de l'état écologique des cours d'eau. Un tel système doit intégrer les trois aspects de la qualité écologique, c'est-à-dire la qualité physico-chimique de l'eau, la qualité biologique et la qualité physique du milieu (évalué par le laboratoire Environnement - Eau de la FUL). Un second objectif est d'établir un modèle de prédiction de l'évolution de la qualité écologique des cours d'eau.
·Au niveau des rives, la végétation joue un rôle significatif en ce qui concerne la rétention des nutriments et sédiments issus du ruissellement des terres agricoles. Le but est alors d'intégrer dans la modélisation le rôle tampon joué par les bandes riveraines (participation du GIREA).
L'acronymePIRENE
statutFini
Les dates de début/date réelle1/11/0031/12/04

mots-clés

  • eaux de surface
  • environnement
  • qualité écologique
  • bandes riveraines
  • eau
  • qualite ecologique