Impact of atrazine on endocrine function in fish

Project: PHD

Project Details

Description

The triazinic herbicide atrazine (2-chloro-4-ethylamino-6-isopylamino-1,3,5-triazine), commonly used in agricultural practices, more specifically in corn fields, is often among the substances detected in surface waters.
Recent studies have shown an influence of this molecule on the hypothalamus-hypophysis axis, leading to the idea that atrazine may act as an endocrine disruptor in mammals ; in rats, the hypothesis has received experimental proofs.
The aim of the present study is to evaluate the impact of atrazine on endocrine function in fish, using goldfish Carassius auratus as a model. Acute and chronic contaminations will be performed in the laboratory, using varying doses of the substance, to meet the following objectives :

-assess the impact of the substance on various organs such as the liver and the gonads, in adults and juveniles ; enzymatic activities of the first (EROD) and second (glutathion S-transferase) phases will serve as indicators;
-identify the possible alterations of the histological organisation and cytological integrity in target organs as a function of the dosis applied (light and electron microscopy);
-evaluate the role played by atrazine on endocrine regulation (sex steroïds and gonadotropins) and the expression of vitellogenin in adult males and juveniles, as well as the disturbances observable in adult females;
-characterize the possible induction of aromatase, a key enzyme in the metabolism of steroïd hormones, and identify the associated receptor(s);
-examine, both in vitro and ex vivo, the impact of the herbicide on hepato- and oocytes. The results obtained will be compared with those collected following in vivo contaminations.
StatusFinished
Effective start/end date1/06/9931/12/03

Keywords

  • endocrine disruptor
  • Carassius auratus
  • atrazine
  • fish.

Impact de l'atrazine sur la fonction endocrine chez les poissons

Projet: Projet de thèse

Détails du projet

Description

L'herbicide triazinique atrazine (2-chloro-4-éthylamino-6- isopylamino-1,3,5-triazine), utilisé régulièrement en agriculture, spécialement dans la culture du maïs, se retrouve parmi les substances détectées dans les eaux de surface.
De récentes études ont signalé l'interaction de cette substance sur l'axe hypothalamo-hypophyso- gonadal, en laissant soupçonner que l'atrazine s'y comporte comme un perturbateur endocrinien chez les mammifères; chez le rat, ce soupçon s'est mué en évidence.
Le but de cette étude est de déterminer l'impact de l'atrazine sur la fonction endocrine chez les poissons et, plus particulièrement, chez Carassius auratus. Des contaminations à court et à long terme, à différentes doses de la substance, seront menées en laboratoire pour atteindre les objectifs suivants:

* déterminer l'impact de la substance sur différents organes, tels que le foie et les gonades, chez les adultes et les stades juvéniles; pour ce volet, les activités enzymatiques de phase I (EROD) et phase II (glutathion S-transferase) seront dosées;
* mettre en évidence les altérations liées à la dose utilisée, par l'investigation histologique et cytologique des organes cibles (microscopie optique et électronique);
* évaluer le rôle joué par l'atrazine sur la régulation endocrine (stéroïdes sexuels et gonadotropines) et sur l'expression de la vitellogénine chez les mâles adultes et les stades juvéniles, ainsi que les perturbations chez les femelles adultes;
* caractériser l'éventuelle induction de l'activité de l'aromatase, une enzyme clef dans le métabolisme des hormones stéroïdes et rechercher le(s) récepteur(s) associé(s);
* rechercher in vitro et ex vivo l'impact de l'herbicide sur les hépatocytes et les ovocytes. Les résultats obtenus seront confrontés avec ceux obtenus par les contaminations in vivo.
statutFini
Les dates de début/date réelle1/06/9931/12/03

mots-clés

  • Carassius auratus
  • atrazine
  • poisson.
  • perturbateur endocrinien