Grafting of functionalized molecular layers onto copper, zinc, and brass

Project: PHD

Description

The three fundamental steps of this work are the following :
  • Preliminary conditioning of the metals (cleanings, electrochemical reduction, etc.) in order to infer to the surface a chemical affinity complementary of the -SH function.

  • Grafting of molecular monolayer onto massive metals - copper, zinc and brass (Cu63Zn37) - by self-assembly of functionalised alkanethiols : X-(CH2)n-SH with X- = (MeO)3Si- or HO- and n = 3 or 11. The nature of the solvent, the concentration and the reaction time are essential parameters to study in order to control the quality of the films.

  • The modification of the outer part of the film, by hydrolysis of the trimethoxysilanes groups of the formed monolayers from (MeO)3Si-(CH2)n-SH , or by condensation of silica precursors on HO-(CH2)n-SH layers.


The final purpose of this work is to develop thin films with good blocking and corrosion resistance properties, on one hand, and offering nice possibilities for further grafting on the outer surface, one the other hand.
StatusFinished
Effective start/end date31/08/0030/09/04

Keywords

  • Brass
  • XPS
  • Zinc
  • Corrosion
  • Self-assembled monolayer (SAM)
  • Copper
  • Electrochemistry
  • PM-IRRAS

Greffage de couches moléculaires d'alcanethiols fonctionnalisés sur cuivre, zinc et laiton

Projet: Projet de thèse

Description

Les trois étapes fondamentales de ce travail sont les suivantes :
  • Procéder au conditionnement préalable du substrat (nettoyage, réduction électrochimique, etc.) afin d'induire en surface une affinité chimique complémentaire vis-à-vis des groupements -SH.

  • Greffer des monocouches moléculaires sur des substrats métalliques massifs - cuivre, zinc et laiton (Cu63Zn37) - par auto-assemblage d'alcanethiols fonctionnalisés : X-(CH2)n-SH avec X- = (MeO)3Si- ou HO- et n = 3 ou 11. La nature du solvant, la concentration et le temps de réaction sont des paramètres essentiels à étudier pour la contrôle de la qualité des films.

  • Modifier la partie externe du film, soit en hydrolysant les groupements triméthoxysilanes des monocouches formées au départ de (MeO)3Si-(CH2)n-SH, soit en condensant des précurseurs de silice sur les couches de HO-(CH2)n-SH.


Le but final visé est la mise au point de films minces présentant de bonnes propriétés bloquantes et de résistance à la corrosion, d'une part, et offrant des possibilités d'ancrages ultérieurs sur la surface externe, d'autre part.
statutFini
Les dates de début/date réelle31/08/0030/09/04

mots-clés

  • Cuivre
  • Electrochimie
  • XPS
  • Thiol
  • Zinc
  • Monocouche auto-assemblee (SAM)
  • Monocouche auto-assemblée (SAM)
  • Corrosion
  • PM-IRRAS
  • Laiton