ARES- CCD Project: Socio-economic development, community dynamics, and cultural recognition in Ocongate. Multidisciplinary analysis of the challenges of economic modernization of a region in the Andes.

Project: Research

Project Details

Description

Over the past three decades, Peru has experienced increasing economic liberalization, which has caused, among other consequences, the mercantilization of local economies. This socio-economic and cultural transformation is particularly acute in the Ocongate district, Quispicanchi province, in the Cuzco region. In addition to the impact common to the different regions of the national liberalization policies, the Ocongate district is located on the route of the South Inter-Oceanic Route. The opening of this road, inaugurated in 2006, has led to an increase in mobility and strengthened the attractiveness of new forms of agricultural and livestock production through the connection to markets, not without impact on the quality of life and well-being of the peasants (campesinos) as well as on the sustainability of their environment and way of life.
Within the framework of the ARES-CCD Institutional Support to the University of San Antonio Abad de Cusco (UNSAAC), we have highlighted, among members of peasant communities, a tension between an identity and cultural attachment to a traditional communal way of life, and a growing attraction for the socio-economic emancipation that commercial agriculture, migration and tourism seem to offer.
This project aims at the interdisciplinary exploration of family and community dynamics, including the dynamics of agricultural and non-agricultural development, gender relations, ecohealth and social justice in its distributive and recognition dimensions. Through an approach that is both emic and ethical, this research project will result in 3 PhDs (in anthropology, socio-economics and political philosophy), and gender research, which will be carried out in close collaboration in order to produce an original interdisciplinary methodology, generating a holistic vision of ongoing community changes and knowledge directly useful to communities and decision-makers for their future orientation.
StatusActive
Effective start/end date30/06/1930/06/24

Attachment to an Research Institute in UNAMUR

  • Transitions

Projet ARES- CCD :PRD - Développement socio- économique, dynamiques communautaires, et reconnaissance culturelle à Ocongate. Analyse pluridisciplinaire des enjeux de la modernisation économique d'une région des Andes

Projet: Recherche

Détails du projet

Description

Durant les trois dernières décennies, le Pérou a connu une libéralisation économique croissante, qui a causé, entre autres conséquences, la mercantilisation des économies locales. Cette transformation socio-économique et culturelle est particulièrement aigüe dans le district d’Ocongate, province de Quispicanchi, dans la région de Cuzco. Outre l’impact commun aux différentes régions des politiques nationales de libéralisation, le district d’Ocongate se situe sur le tracé de la Route Interocéanique Sud. L’ouverture de cette route, inaugurée en 2006, a provoqué une augmentation des mobilités et renforcé l’attrait pour de nouvelles formes de production agricole et d'élevage par la liaison aux marchés, non sans impact sur la qualité de vie et le bien-être des paysans (campesinos) ainsi que sur la durabilité de leur environnement et de leur mode de vie.
Dans le cadre de l’Appui Institutionnel de l’ARES-CCD auprès de l’université San Antonio Abad de Cusco (UNSAAC), nous avons mis en évidence, au sein des membres des communautés paysannes, une tension entre un attachement identitaire et culturel pour un mode vie traditionnel communautaire, et un attrait croissant pour une émancipation socio-économique que semblent offrir l’agriculture commerciale, la migration ou encore le tourisme.
Ce projet vise l’exploration interdisciplinaire de la dynamique familiale et communautaire, y compris les dynamiques de développement agricole et non-agricole, des rapports de genre, de l’ecosanté et de la justice sociale dans ses dimensions à la fois distributive et de reconnaissance. Par une approche à la fois émique et étique, ce projet de recherche donnera lieu à 3 doctorats (en anthropologie, socio-économie et philosophie politique), et une recherche sur la question du genre, qui seront réalisés en étroite collaboration afin de produire une méthodologie interdisciplinaire originale, générant une vision holistique des mutations communautaires en cours et un savoir directement utile aux communautés et aux décideurs pour leur orientation future.
statutEn cours d'exécution
Les dates de début/date réelle30/06/1930/06/24

Attachement à un institut de recherche reconnus à l'UNAMUR

  • Transitions