ARES-CCD Project: PRD - Establishment of a support platform for training and awareness-raising, diagnosis and development of a control strategy for Brucellosis and Trypanosomiasis in Ecuador

Project: Research

Description

The cattle sector in Ecuador is facing an increase in the prevalence of infectious diseases with a strong impact on the local and national economy and public health. The project aims to contribute to the control of brucellosis and trypanosomiasis in Ecuador. It will be based on an innovative strategy aimed at setting up an interdisciplinary and inter-institutional platform to centralize and disseminate the knowledge acquired;
validate diagnostic, prevention and treatment tools;
identify an appropriate and sustainable strategy for the fight and control of these diseases.
The platform will make it possible to better inform political decision-makers so that they can take concerted decisions based on reliable scientific information. Capacity building of the platform's actors will improve its operational sustainability and expertise.
The implementation of cascade training will make it possible to reach a large number of actors in the beef and cattle industry and public health. The training and awareness-raising tools will be based on the knowledge acquired from the project (epidemiological situation of the diseases, economic impact, social aspects to be considered for the adoption of the recommended control and monitoring methods, development of diagnostic tools and effective treatment protocols). The establishment of a new research centre for high-risk pathogens (brucellosis and trypanosomiasis) within ESPE will provide the technical and scientific support necessary for the development and validation of diagnostic protocols accessible to large and small producers in Ecuador. The sustainability of the project will be partly guaranteed by the institutional stability of ESPE, its authorities, researchers and its independence from the other actors of the platform. The platform and the research centre will make it possible to respond to the needs of the sector in terms of food safety and will serve as a basis for the implementation of plans to combat and control other diseases of interest to animal and human health.
StatusActive
Effective start/end date1/01/2031/12/23

Projet ARES-CCD: PRD - Mise en place d'une plate- forme d'appui à la formation et à la sensibilisation, au diagnostic et au développement d'une stratégie de contrôle de la Brucellose et de la Trypanosomiase en Equateur

Projet: Recherche

Détails du projet

Description

Le secteur bovin en Equateur fait face à une augmentation de la prévalence de maladies infectieuses impactant fortement l’économie locale et nationale ainsi que la santé publique. Le projet a pour objectif de contribuer au contrôle de la brucellose et de la trypanosomiase en Equateur. Il se basera sur une stratégie innovante visant à mettre en place un plate-forme interdisciplinaire et interinstitutionnelle ayant pour objectifs de centraliser et diffuser les connaissances acquises;
valider les outils de diagnostic, de prévention et de traitement ;
identifier une stratégie adaptée et durable de lutte et de contrôle de ces maladies.
La plate-forme permettra de mieux informer les décideurs politiques afin que ceux-ci puissent prendre des décisions concertées, basées sur une information scientifique fiable. Le renforcement de capacités des acteurs de la plate-forme permettra d’en améliorer la durabilité opérationnelle et l’expertise.
La réalisation de formations en cascade permettra de toucher un grand nombre d’acteurs de la filière bovine et de la santé publique. Les outils de formation et sensibilisation seront basés sur les connaissances acquises du projet (situation épidémiologique des maladies, impact économique, aspects sociaux à considérer pour l’adoption des méthodes de lutte et de contrôle préconisées, développement d’outils de diagnostic et de protocoles de traitement efficaces). La mise en place d’un nouveau centre de recherche pour agents pathogènes à haut risque (brucellose et trypanosomiase) au sein de l’ESPE permettra de fournir l’appui technique et scientifique nécessaire au développement et la validation de protocoles de diagnostic accessibles aux grands et petits producteurs en Equateur. La durabilité du projet sera en partie garantie par la stabilité institutionnelle de l’ESPE, ses autorités, ses chercheurs et son indépendance vis-à-vis des autres acteurs de la plate-forme. La plate-forme et le centre de recherche permettront de répondre aux besoins du secteur en terme de sécurité alimentaire et serviront de base à la mise en œuvre de plans de lutte et de contrôle d’autres maladies d’intérêt pour la santé animale et humaine.
statutEn cours d'exécution
Les dates de début/date réelle1/01/2031/12/23