Absolute measurement of the elastic scattering cross section reaction on oxygen

Project: Research

Project Details

Description

Resonant scattering cross sections are currently used for light elements backscattering spectroscopy. Many studies of the 16O(alpha,alpha)16O reaction cross section, particularly focused on the peak at ER=3.045 MeV, have been made: results are in disagreement. The very high stability of energy of the Tandetron accelerator ALTAÏS from the LARN laboratory allows a reliable measurement of this cross section.

Thin tantalum coatings have been deposited by magnetron sputtering on a light carbon substrate, in order to isolate the oxygen signal from any background signal. These layers have been anodically oxidized under constant current conditions. Two Ta2O5 standards were produced: a thin oxide layer (~4 keV energy loss) for resonances probing, and a thicker layer (~12keV energy loss) to scan the regions where the cross section shows slow variations.

Cross section was measured for energies between 2.4 and 6.0 MeV, at typical backscattering angles 165° and 170°. The main resonance was fixed at ER=3031.7 keV. Deviations from previous measurements have been observed at high energies.

In order to check the performance of the 16O(alpha,alpha)16O reaction for oxygen analysis, multilayers TTiO2/Si, TiN/Si, TiO2/TiN/Si, TiN/TiO2/Si, TiO2/C samples, and a sample of vaporised functionalized nanotubes were characterised. Advantages of the technique in case of low oxygen concentrations have been pointed out.
StatusFinished
Effective start/end date1/09/0431/12/06

Keywords

  • accelerator
  • oxygen
  • elastic scattering
  • differential cross-section

Mesure absolue de la section efficace de diffusion élastique de la réaction sur l'oxygène

  • Terwagne, Guy (Responsable du Projet)
  • DEMARCHE, Julien (Chercheur)

Projet: Recherche

Détails du projet

Description

Les sections efficaces résonantes de diffusion élastique sont couramment utilisées pour la spectroscopie de rétrodiffusion par des éléments légers. Plusieurs mesures de la section efficace de la réaction 16O(alpha,alpha)16O, particulièrement centrées sur le pic situé à ER=3.045 MeV, ont été effectuées; les résultats sont en désaccord. La stabilité en énergie de l'accélérateur Tandetron ALTAÏS du laboratoire LARN permet une mesure fiable de cette section efficace.

Des couches de tantale ont été déposées par pulvérisation cathodique magnétron sur un substrat léger de carbone, afin d'isoler le signal de l'oxygène du bruit de fond. Ces couches ont été oxydées anodiquement à courant constant. Deux standards de Ta2O5 ont été créés: une couche mince (perte de 3.6 keV) pour caractériser les résonances, et une couche plus épaisse (perte de 12 keV) pour mesurer les régions où la section efficace varie peu.

La section efficace a été mesurée pour des énergies comprises entre 2.4 et 6.0 MeV, aux angles typiques de rétrodiffusion de 165° et 170°. La position en énergie de la résonance principale a été mesurée à ER=3031.7 keV. Des déviations par rapport aux précédentes mesures ont également été observées à hautes énergies.

Afin de tester l'efficacité de la réaction 16O(alpha,alpha)16O pour analyser l'oxygène, des multicouches de TiO2/Si, TiN/Si, TiO2/TiN/Si, TiN/TiO2/Si, TiO2/C, ainsi qu'un échantillon de nanotubes fonctionnalisés ont été analysés. Les avantages de la technique dans le cas de faibles concentrations en oxygène ont été mis en évidence.
statutFini
Les dates de début/date réelle1/09/0431/12/06

mots-clés

  • accelerateur
  • oxygène
  • diffusion elatique
  • section efficace différentielle
  • accélérateur
  • section efficace differentielle
  • diffusion élatique
  • oxygene

Empreinte digitale

Explorez les thèmes de recherche abordés par ce projet. Ces libellés sont générés sur la base des prix/subventions sous-jacents. Ensemble, ils forment une empreinte digitale unique.