A generic rules-based inference engine to track mobiles with secure localization techniques

Project: PHD

Description

Motivations

Surveillance of some categories of individuals with electronic means could improve public security. Some because they represent a potential threat for the society (recidivist sexual offenders, terrorists...), some because they are vulnerable (elder people, patients...) and eventually some because of the risks linked to their duty in a public organisation (soldiers, firemen, policemen...).

Some objects (weapons, precious material, dangerous substances...) should be tracked as their loss could threaten public security or lead to heavy financial prejudices for the federal state or the regions.

Description

The present thesis covers the analysis, the design and the prototyping of a generic rules-based inference engine that can address the needs of different surveillance applications. Those applications, allowing tracking people or objects, are aimed to maintain or improve public security.

The different 'instances' of this generic software could be used by control centres monitoring prisoners or sex offenders in probation period, by security services command posts, by military headquarters...

The development of geo localisation technologies allows a quasi permanent and ubiquitous surveillance and thus addresses the stringent requirements of some categories of those applications (sex offenders' surveillance).

This generic software will offer interfaces to different geo localisation technologies (location servers...), to equipments bound to individuals and objects to be tracked (electronic bracelets, implants, RFID chips...) et to terminals used by the end-users of those applications: the 'controllers'.

One must address the potential risks that such applications represent for privacy and personal freedom. Therefore, this software will include security measures aimed to prevent, or at least detect, the potential abuses from the 'controllers'.

Methods and tools

The analysis and the design will be based on UML (Unified Modelling Language).

The requirements for the different applications will be collected at the Belgian justice, homeland and defence federal public services.

This generic rules-based inference engine will be developed and deployed on open source platforms (operating system, database management system, integrated development environment...).

It will implement artificial intelligence techniques: A set of adaptive rules that will be easily applied to the different surveillance applications and will allow detecting 'abnormal' situations: A tracked individual or object is not located at the expected location or does no longer emit signals, a 'controller' is performing a suspect query... Moreover, artificial intelligence techniques could also be used to improve the motion model of the mobiles to be tracked.

It will also make use of statistical methods as one has to determine the position of a mobile at a given time from localization data collected from different sources at different times with different levels of accuracy (data sources: GPS, triangulation in a cellular network, Argos...). So, the system will not provide the position of a mobile but rather the likelihood that a mobile is positioned at a certain location with a certain confidence interval.

At last, it will rely upon information security protocols, mitigating the risks of specific attacks threatening geo localization systems ('wormholes'...) and guaranteeing the control of the 'controllers'.
StatusCurtailed
Effective start/end date1/09/0415/09/07

Keywords

  • security
  • Location-based services
  • tracking

Un moteur d'inférence générique pour le traçage de personnes et d'objets mobiles avec des techniques de géo-localisation sécurisées

Projet: Projet de thèse

Détails du projet

Description

Motivations

La surveillance de certaines catégories de personnes par des moyens électroniques pourrait améliorer la sécurité publique. Certaines parce qu'elles représentent un danger potentiel pour la société (délinquants sexuels récidivistes, terroristes...), d'autres parce qu'elles sont vulnérables (personnes âgées, patients...) enfin d'autres dans l'exercice de leur fonction publique (militaires, pompiers, policiers...).

Certains objets (armes, matières précieuses, substances dangereuses...) devraient être tracés car leur perte pourrait induire des risques pour la sécurité publique ou entrainer des préjudices financiers lourds à l'état fédéral ou aux régions.

Description

La thèse porte sur l'analyse, la conception et le prototypage d'un moteur d'inférence générique qui peut répondre aux besoins de différentes applications de surveillance et de traçage de personnes et d'objets à des fins de sécurité publique.

Les différentes 'instances' de ce logiciel pourront être utilisées par les centres de contrôle de prisonniers en liberté conditionnelle, les postes de commande des services de sécurité, les états-majors...

L'essor des technologies de géo localisation augmente les possibilités d'une surveillance quasi permanente et ubiquitaire, répondant aux exigences très élevées de certaines applications (la surveillance des délinquants sexuels...).

Ce logiciel générique, objet de la thèse offrira des interfaces aux différentes technologies de géo localisation (serveur de localisation...), aux appareils liés aux personnes et objets à surveiller (bracelets électroniques, implants, puces RFID...) et aux terminaux des utilisateurs des applications (les 'surveillants').

On ne peut ignorer que le mauvais usage d'applications de surveillance pourrait nuire aux libertés individuelles et à la vie privée. Dés lors, le logiciel, objet de la thèse, intégrera des mécanismes de contrôle qui devront empêcher ou au moins détecter les utilisations injustifiées de ces applications.

Méthodes et outils

L'analyse et la conception seront basées sur le langage de modélisation UML (Unified Modelling Language).

Les exigences des différentes applications seront collectées auprès des autorités fédérales ou régionales belges (ministère de la justice, de l'intérieur, de la défense...).

Le logiciel sera réalisé avec des logiciels de base (système d'exploitation, gestionnaire de base de données...) et un environnement de développement 'open source'.

Ce logiciel mettra en œuvre des techniques d'intelligence artificielle : Ensemble de règles qui pourront être aisément adaptées à chaque application et qui permettront de détecter qu'une situation est 'anormale' : Une personne ou un objet surveillé n'est pas à l'endroit où on l'attend ou n'émet plus de signaux, un surveillant fait une consultation 'suspecte'.... En outre, des techniques d'intelligence artificielle pourraient également être utilisées pour améliorer la modélisation des trajectoires des mobiles à tracer.

Il utilisera également des méthodes statistiques car une des problématiques est de déterminer une position à un moment précis à partir de données de localisation qui ne sont pas fournies au même moment, ni avec la même précision (sources des données: GPS, triangulation par réseau cellulaire, Argos...). Le système ne dira donc pas 'il est là' mais donnera plutôt 'la probabilité qu'il soit là avec un certain intervalle de confiance'.

Enfin, le logiciel implémentera des protocoles de sécurité informatique couvrant les risques des attaques spécifiques menaçant les systèmes de géo-localisation ('trou du ver'...) et assurant la surveillance des 'surveillants'.
statutRéduit
Les dates de début/date réelle1/09/0415/09/07

mots-clés

  • Géo-localisation
  • sécurité
  • traçage
  • Geo-localisation
  • securite
  • tracage