If you made any changes in Pure these will be visible here soon.

Personal profile

Introduction

Previously assistant at the Department of French and Romance Languages and Literatures (2000-2007) then post-doctoral researcher for the F.R.S.-FNRS (2007-2011), Laurence Meurant has been Research Fellow for the F.R.S.-FNRS at the University of Namur since 2011. Her research concerns the linguistic description of the French Belgian Sign Language (LSFB) and contrastive linguistics between LSFB and French. Since 2004, she has been the scientific expert of the bilingual (French - LSFB) and inclusive teaching setting implemented at the school Sainte-Marie in Namur (http://www.ecoleetsurdite.be/).

In charge of the Scientific Impulse Mandate "Corpus LSFB" (MIS F.4505.12, 2012-2015), she is developing the first discourse studies based on a corpus representative of the current use of the LSFB.

She heads the French Belgian Sign Language Laboratory – LSFB-Lab, where she is currently leading the work of a team of 11 people involved in the linguistic description of the LSFB, in the comparative study of the LSFB and French, and in computer developments for the creation of a parallel signed vs. written language corpus and the automatic recognition of LSFB.

Areas of expertise

General linguistics

Sign language linguistics (French Belgian Sign Language – LSFB)

Contrastive linguistics (French – LSFB)

External responsibilities

Awards

2004: Van Goethem-Brichant Foundation Prize. The Van Goethem-Brichant Foundation aims to contribute to the development of young university graduates with a view to improving the lot of people with disabilities.

2006: Beloeil Clinic Prize. The Beloeil Clinic Prize rewards a work or an action developed which allows better access to studies, communication or the integration of sign language in an educational process for deaf and hearing-impaired children.

2012 : Namur-citizen of the year (science category)

Diplomas

Research interests

French belgian sign language (LSFB), Contrastive linguistics: French - French belgian sign language, Corpus linguistics, Reformulation, Repetition, Bilingual education for the deaf

Education/Academic qualification

Doctor of Letters, Université de Namur

Award Date: 27 Jun 2006

Fingerprint

Dive into the research topics where Laurence Meurant is active. These topic labels come from the works of this person. Together they form a unique fingerprint.
  • 6 Similar Profiles

Network

Recent external collaboration on country level. Dive into details by clicking on the dots or
Your message has successfully been sent.
Your message was not sent due to an error.
If you made any changes in Pure these will be visible here soon.

Photo de Laurence Meurant
20002021

Résultat de recherche par an

Si vous avez apporté des modifications à Pure, elles seront bientôt visibles.

Profil personnel

Présentation

Assistante au département de Langues et littératures françaises et romanes (2000-2007) puis Chargé de recherche pour le F.R.S.-FNRS (2007-2011), Laurence Meurant est Chercheur qualifié pour le F.R.S.–FNRS à l'Université de Namur depuis 2011. Ses recherches concernent la description linguistique de la langue des signes de Belgique francophone (LSFB) et la linguistique contrastive entre la LSFB et le français. Depuis 2004, elle est la responsable scientifique du dispositif d'enseignement bilingue (français – LSFB) et inclusif implanté à l'école Sainte-Marie à Namur (http://www.ecoleetsurdite.be/).

Responsable du Mandat d'Impulsion Scientifique "Corpus LSFB" (MIS F.4505.12, 2012-2015), Laurence Meurant développe les premières études discursives fondées sur un corpus représentatif de l'usage actuel de la LSFB. 

Laurence Meurant est responsable du Laboratoire de langue des signes de Belgique francophone - LSFB-Lab, où elle dirige actuellement le travail d'une équipe de 11 personnes impliquée dans la description linguistique de la LSFB, dans l'étude comparée de la LSFB et du français, et dans les développements informatiques au service de la création d'un corpus parallèle langue des signes - langue écrite et de la reconnaissance automatique de la LSFB.

Domaines de compétence

Linguistique générale

Linguistique des langues des signes (langue des signes française de Belgique – LSFB)

Linguistique contrastive (français-LSFB)

Charges externes

Chargé de recherches FRS-FNRS (1/10/2007-30/09/2011)
Chercheur qualifié FRS-FNRS (1/10/2011-)

Membre du NAmur Research College-NARC (13/01/2012 - 12/01/2017)

Groupe de contact F.R.S. - FNRS "Langues des signes de Belgique francophone" (Présidente)

Prix/Distinctions

2004 : Prix de la Fondation Van Goethem-Brichant La Fondation Van Goethem-Brichant a pour objet de contribuer au perfectionnement de jeunes diplômés universitaires en vue de l'amélioration du sort des personnes handicapées.

2006 : Prix de la Clinique de Beloeil Le Prix Clinique de Beloeil récompense un travail ou une action développée qui permet un meilleur accès aux études, à la communication ou à l'intégration de la langue des signes dans un processus éducatif pour les enfants sourds et malentendants.

2012 : Namuroise de l'année (catégorie sciences)

Diplômes

Licence en langues et littératures romanes
Doctorat en philosophie et lettres

!!Research interests

Langue des signes de Belgique francophone (LSFB), Linguistique contrastive français - langue des signes de Belgique francophone, Linguistique de corpus, Reformulation, Répétition, Enseignement bilingue aux élèves sourds

Qualification académique

Docteur ès lettres, Université de Namur

Date d'octroi: 27 juin 2006

Empreinte digitale

Passez en revue plus en détail les thèmes de recherche où Laurence Meurant est actif. Ces libellés thématiques proviennent des travaux de cette personne. Ensemble, ils forment une empreinte digitale unique.
  • 5 Profils similaires

Réseau

Collaboration externe récente au niveau des pays. Analysez le détail en cliquant sur les points.
Votre message a bien été envoyé.
Votre message n’a pas été envoyé en raison d’une erreur.
Si vous avez apporté des modifications à Pure, elles seront bientôt visibles.