The Legal Recognition of Sign Languages

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review


This article provides an analytical overview of the di erent types of explicit legal recognition of sign languages. Five categories are distin- guished: constitutional recognition, recognition by means of general language legislation, recognition by means of a sign language law or act, recognition by means of a sign language law or act including other means of communication, and recognition by legislation on the functioning of the national language council.The article further describes three categories of implicit (legal) recognition.
Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)498-506
JournalSign Language Studies
Issue number4
Publication statusPublished - 2015


Dive into the research topics of 'The Legal Recognition of Sign Languages'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this